Clinical Pain Educator of the Year

Michael E. Schatman, PhD, CPE
Dr. Schatman is a clinical psychologist who has spent the past 26 years working in multidisciplinary chronic pain management. He is currently the Executive Director of the Foundation for Ethics in Pain Care in Bellevue, Washington, and maintains a part-time practice in pain psychology, also in Bellevue. Dr. Schatman is the author of over 70 journal articles, book chapters, and nationally presented papers on various aspects of chronic pain management. He is also the editor of Ethical Issues in Chronic Pain Management and Chronic Pain Management: Guidelines for Multidisciplinary Program Development, both of which were released by Informa Healthcare in 2007. Dr. Schatman is on the editorial boards of Pain Medicine and Psychological Injury and Law, and is the Secretary of the Western Pain Society, the Chairperson of the Ethics Special Interest Group of the American Pain Society, is a member of the Ethics Committee of the American Pain Society, and is a member of the Executive Advisory Boards of the American Society of Pain Educators and the Association for Scientific Advancement in Psychological Injury and Law. He has been involved as a board member and lecturer with the American Society of Pain Educators and PAINWeek since their inceptions.

Academic Pain Educator of the Year

Charles E. Argoff, MD, CPE
Dr. Argoff is Professor of Neurology at Albany Medical College and Director of the Comprehensive Pain Center at Albany Medical Center in New York. He is a member of the International Association for the Study of Pain, the American Academy of Pain Medicine, the American Academy of Neurology, and the American Society of Pain Educators, among other professional organizations. Dr. Argoff serves on the editorial board of the Clinical Journal of Pain and as a reviewer for the Journal of Pain, Brain, Journal of the American Medical Association, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Journal of Musculoskeletal Pain,Journal of Pain and Symptom Management, and Clinical Journal of Pain. He is co-editor of the Neuropathic Pain Section of Pain Medicine. Dr. Argoff had an active role in the development of the diabetic peripheral neuropathic pain guidelines published inMayo Clinic Proceedings, and he has contributed to other published neuropathic pain treatment guidelines. He is one of the editors of the recently published textbook Ra’s Practical Management of Pain, Fourth Edition. He has recently published the third edition of Pain Management Secrets.

Industry Pain Educator of the Year

Ann M. Rule, PharmD, CPE
Dr. Rule received her Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy from the University of Wyoming and her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Maryland. She subsequently completed a two-year Medication Safety Fellowship at the Creighton University Center for Practice Improvement and Outcomes Research. Her prior experience includes more than 25 years as a clinical pharmacist in a variety of practice settings. She has served as a Director of Pharmacy, developed and managed a home infusion company within a managed care organization, and has worked in a variety of home infusion and hospice programs. Dr. Rule has also served as a clinical specialist in a pain management and palliative care program. Most recently, she was on faculty with the Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions. She completed the certification exam offered by the American Society of Pain Educators and became a Certified Pain Educator in December 2010. Dr. Rule joined Purdue Pharma L.P. as a Director, Medical Liaisons, with a focus on Alliance Outreach in 2007.

Connect with the ASPE

Subscribe to ASPE eAlerts for notification on events & news.
ASPE members are the "go to” resources in their practices and organizations
Gain recognition for your knowledge, experience, & expertise as a pain educator. The CPE exam is administered year round and open to all qualified candidates

New CPEs

Daniel Abazia, PharmD, CPE
Lauren Lawler, PharmD, CPE
Ashley Hasulak, RPh, CPE