Clinical Pain Educator of the Year

Howard A. Heit, MD

The Clinical award recognizes an outstanding educator who serves as a national opinion leader in the fields of pain and chemical dependency, participating in national policy development, teaching and lecturing about best practices for opioid therapy, and writing numerous articles for publication in peer-reviewed journals. At the same time, Dr. Heit continues to see patients as an active medical practitioner in Virginia, bringing stability and compassion into their lives.

Academic Pain Educator of the Year Award

Charles D. Ponte, PharmD, CPE

The Academic award recognizes an exceptional educator in academic environment. Dr. Charles D. Ponte has been honored time and again as an outstanding teacher. He currently serves as Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Family Medicine, Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine, Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center, West Virginia University. Dr. Ponte is also recognized as a key opinion leader in pain management and was instrumental in the development of the Certified Pain Educator (CPE) examination.

Industry Pain Educator of the Year Award

Marsha Stanton, PhD, RN

The Industry award recognizes a person of excellence in a teaching capacity in the pharmaceutical industry. Dr. Marsha Stanton has demonstrated exceptional commitment to pain education while serving as President of the American Society of Pain Management Nursing, and also as a pain educator for Knoll Pharmaceuticals, Purdue Pharma, LP, Alpharma Inc, and King Pharmaceuticals. Dr. Stanton continues to promote best practices concerning pain and its management, participating in national organizations such as the Pain Care Forum to address policy and regulatory issues.

Connect with the ASPE

Subscribe to ASPE eAlerts for notification on events & news.
ASPE members are the "go to” resources in their practices and organizations
Gain recognition for your knowledge, experience, & expertise as a pain educator. The CPE exam is administered year round and open to all qualified candidates

New CPEs

Daniel Abazia, PharmD, CPE
Lauren Lawler, PharmD, CPE
Ashley Hasulak, RPh, CPE